Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Contact

'Water Science and Engineering (M. Sc.)'

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

KIT-Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences

Kaiserstr. 12
76131 Karlsruhe

 

E-Mail: WatSciEngLhx6∂bgu kit edu

Further Information
infos in module handbook

Regulations and detailed module descriptions in the module handbook.

Time and place of courses in the university calendar.

Structure of the Master's Degree Program

Structure WSE
Structure of the Master Degree Program 'Water Science & Engineering'.

The master's degree program Water Science & Engineering comprises 120 credit points (CP) and is structured in the subjects

 The expected length of the degree program is four semesters.

 

Overview on the Subjects

Advanced Fundamentals (AF)

In this subject, advanced fundamentals of water-related engineering and sciences are taught. All students attend a lecture series on Modeling Water and Environmental Systems. They further choose four subject-specific modules, according to their fields of interest and their selected specialisation (cf. Profile Studies). 

Profile Studies (P)

The degree program provides opportunity for specialisation within three areas of expertise in the sectoral profiles A-C. In addition, an education of ‘generalists‘ in water engineering is possible in the cross-sectoral profile D.

Students choose one of the four profiles at the beginning of their studies. 

Supplementary Modules (P/SM)

The individual specialization within the profile studies is complemented by electives. All further modules of the programme or from cognate disciplines at KIT can be chosen as Supplementary Modules.

Cross-Cutting Methods & Competencies (CC)

The scientifc education is complemented by a comprehensive education in methods and technical skills. The students select modules with at least 12 CP. In line with the international orientation of the program, also language courses with up to 6 CP can be taken.

Study Project (SP)

The students carry out an interdisciplinary study project, which prepares them for independent scientific working and writing, and introduces skills in project management. In addition to the competence of combining approaches from different fields in the context of the project, they acquire abilities for team work and critical evalulation of results.

Master's Thesis (MT)

Students apply the acquired knowledge and methodology to independently plan and conduct a scientific study at the end of the course. They are able to deal with the current state of research, and they are capable to work theoretically and/or experimentally on a complex problem according to scientific standards.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Kontakt

Studiengang Water Science and Engineering (M. Sc.)

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften

Kaiserstr. 12
76131 Karlsruhe


E-Mail: WatSciEngKwk9∂bgu kit edu

Weitere Informationen
infos in module handbook

Detaillierte Informationen zu studiengangsspezifischen Regelungen und Modulen finden sich im Modulhandbuch.

Angaben zu Lehrveranstaltungen finden sich im Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

Aufbau des Studiums

Aufbau WSE
Aufbau des Masterstudiums Water Science & Engineering

Das Masterstudium Water Science & Engineering umfasst insgesamt 120 Leistungspunkte (LP) in den Fächern

Die reguläre Studiendauer beträgt vier Semester.

 

Übersicht über die Fächer

Advanced Fundamentals (AF)

Im Fach Advanced Fundamentals werden fortgeschrittene Grundlagen wasserbezogener Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften vermittelt. Alle Studierenden hören eine Ringvorlesung zur Umweltsystemmodellierung. Weiterhin wählen sie je nach ihrer gewünschten Spezialisierung (vgl. Profilstudium) vier aus sieben fachspezifischen Modulen.

Cross-Cutting Methods & Competencies (CC)

Die fachwissenschaftliche Ausbildung wird durch fundierte Kenntnisse in Querschnittsmethoden und Querschnittskompetenzen flankiert. Die Studierenden wählen Module im Umfang von mindestens 12 LP. Aufgrund der internationalen Ausrichtung des Studiengangs können auch Sprachkurse im Umfang von bis zu 6 LP belegt werden.

Profilstudium (P)

Der Studiengang bietet eine Spezialisierung im Rahmen der drei fachlichen Profile A, B und C. Zudem ist im Profil D eine Ausbildung von ‚Generalisten und Generalistinnen‘ im Wasseringenieurwesen möglich.

Supplementary Modules (P/SM)

Die individuelle Spezialisierung im Rahmen des Profilstudiums wird durch einen freien Wahlbereich ergänzt. Als Supplementary Modules können weitere Module des Profils oder des übrigen Studienangebots, auch aus thematisch angrenzenden Studiengängen des KIT gewählt werden.

Study Project (SP)

Die Studierenden fertigen ein interdisziplinäres Studienprojekt an, das sie an das selbständige wissenschaftliche Arbeiten sowie an Fragen des Projektmanagements heranführt. Neben der Kompetenz, Lösungsansätze aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten im Kontext des Projekts zusammenzuführen, erwerben sie auch die Fähigkeit im Team zu arbeiten und die Ergebnisse kritisch zu diskutieren.

Masterarbeit (MT)

Zum Abschluss des Studiums wenden die Studierenden die erworbenen Fachkenntnisse und erlernten Methoden an, um selbständig eine wissenschaftliche Arbeit zu konzipieren und durchzuführen. Sie können sich mit dem Stand der Forschung auseinandersetzen und eine komplexe Problemstellung nach wissenschaftlichen Methoden theoretisch und/oder experimentell bearbeiten.